Homeward Bound

Well, today we crossed the English channel back onto UK soil and in a few days (after the car has had a service and MOT) we will start to make our way back ‘home’. This is an interesting concept for us as we sold our house before we left and so the caravan really has been our only home for the past year. We are returning to the same area, although we will set up home in a different street and a different town. And we all have very mixed emotions about it. In so many ways we don’t want our current life to change: we have loved having the time to explore places, to learn about and experience different cultures, foods and ways of life, and above all to do it together as a family. It has been an incredible, unforgettable experience and one which has changed us in ways we have only just begun to understand. And yet we are ready for something different, for new challenges and for the next chapter of our lives to begin. One of the things we are most looking forward to is seeing family and friends again after such a long time apart. And the girls can’t wait to open the storage container and have access to all their toys again!

Own Your Days Homeward Bound

However, the girls and I will only be letting our feet touch the ground temporarily. As well as the excitement of moving into a new home, we will be preparing to set off on another adventure. At the end of September we will be jetting off to start the American leg of our trip: six weeks visiting family and friends, firstly in New York and then Denver, Colorado. We are soooooo excited!

But before then we have much to do…a house to clean, a storage container to empty, cars to get serviced and MOT’d, a wedding to attend, friends and family to catch up with, school places to apply for and uniform to buy…I think we will be busy!

Slovenia Lake Bled heart

I’m sure many of you will have noticed that I am way behind with the blog and I am sorry that I haven’t been able to keep up over the last six weeks or so. When we keep moving on all the time as we have recently, there is no time to take stock and write about the places we have just been. I still have so many interesting places to share with you and will try to catch up on these over the next few weeks.

In the meantime, thank you all so much for reading the blog and coming with us on this adventure! I hope you have enjoyed being along for the ride and maybe you have learnt a few things too. I would like to say a massive THANK YOU to those of you who have left comments or sent me messages saying you were enjoying reading it – at times you really have kept me going and spurred me on. To everyone else, I know that you have been out there because I could see the website stats, so thank you for following our story too – I have enjoyed sharing our journey with you all. But I think I would’ve done it even if no-one had been reading it. ‘Own Your Days’ will forever be a record of our adventure and the places we have been.

Own Your Days Home PageWhat started out as a travelogue for family and friends has picked up additional followers along the way and every day our blog posts are read by people from around the world, looking for inspiration or information about some of the places we have visited and the things we have done. I am happy that what we have documented is proving useful to others.

It has taken hard work and commitment to keep the blog going throughout the year and I am proud of myself for achieving it. I am a fairly private person and am not always the first to come forward with my ideas or opinions, so it has been quite something for me to share my writing so publicly. I will probably keep posting every now and then about places we visit in the UK, so I would be delighted if you stayed along for that. And, well, who knows what we will do next…?

 

30 thoughts on “Homeward Bound

  1. Wow !!
    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading all about your adventures. At times Mr Woods and I have had conversations about where you are and what you have been up to ( making us extremely jealous)
    I wish you well in the next part of your journey and look forward to hearing all about it.

    Kirsty Plant

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your good wishes Kirsty. I am glad you have enjoyed reading the blog and hope we’ll be able to catch up with you and everyone else at BF once we’re back from America – I’m sure a visit will be in order at some point! Xx

      Like

  2. Waaah! Can’t believe it’s almost over. But pleased to hear you and the girls at least have an exciting Autumn ahead. Thank you for doing the blog. I have greatly enjoyed being able to follow your journey. You are an inspiration to all of us x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jan. Glad you have enjoyed it – I actually think I will miss writing it, although I’ve still got plenty to finish off, and of course will now have America to blog about too 🙂 Hope all is well with you. Xx

      Like

  3. I have loved reading all about it, really admire you all for having the courage to just go for it. What an amazing adventure, Look forwards to seeing you all when you return, xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Welcome home all. Hope you all settle back quickly – how exciting about the States. Enjoyed following your adventure and know who I will be talking to for recommendations on city breaks/holidays.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Susan. Yes, we’ve already got a long list of places we’d love to go back to for a weekend or holiday! Hope you are all well. Xx

      Like

    1. Thanks Denise – yes, it will be very strange not being in the caravan all the time. I think I’m going to miss the fresh air most and being outside all the time.
      Would be lovely to catch up sometime once we’re back from America. We can compare notes on northern Spain since you’ve also spent some time there visiting Aaron.
      Hope you are well. Xx

      Like

    1. Thanks Scyth! Yes, hope to see you all soon and I’ll be back from America in time for that girls weekend in December, so maybe we should get organised and book somewhere? Love to you all. Xx

      Like

  5. Hi all a welcome home, wow the time soon passed, hope your new home is all sorted soon and you have time to take stock before you start work and school, lets home for a fab new start on the life your now starting. Roy and Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Roy and Karen! We won’t be very far from you in our new place, so we’ll have to meet up for a drink sometime when we’re settled. Hope you’re both ok. Xx

      Like

  6. Well done you for completing this stage of the journey and blog, what an amazing achievement! It’s so exciting to know we will back in the same country again-once you get back from America ofcourse! I’m sure we will have lots of shared experiences as we adjust to life in the UK again, and that’s a whole other blog story others would love to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sarah! Yes, I’m sure we’ll be able to compare notes. And it will be lovely having you a bit nearer again – no water to cross to get there at least! Xx

      Like

  7. Congratulations on wrapping up such an amazing adventure! I’m really glad to have found your blog and have thoroughly enjoyed reading about your travels. I’m so impressed by the amount of effort you put into researching each place. It is a bit sad that this epic journey is coming to an end (for now), but you guys are so inspiring and I hope to be able to do something similar with my family in the hopefully not to distant future. Thank you so much for sharing your stories and please keep writing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kelly! It has been great sharing our journey with you and thank you for all your comments along the way.
      I really hope you manage to make your dream of travel with your family a reality – I’m sure you won’t regret it! Good luck and please let me know if/when you do.
      Regards.
      Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We have something in the works for next year and beyond, not exactly the dropping everything to travel full-time for a year type (boy do I wish), but it’ll be the best we can do for the foreseeable future. I will share more details once we are ready to announce it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Great! Anything is good. You can do and see so much without having to commit a year of your life to it 🙂
        Good luck with whatever you work out. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

